Thailand Visa Requirements

Visa requirements to visit Thailand

To apply for a visa for travelling to Thailand, applicants must verify that their nationality allows them to apply for a visa for Thailand online, as not all countries are currently able to obtain a Thai visa by electronic means.

The eVisa will be launched in 2019. The first eligible nationalities will be Chinese (from 15 February), British (1 March) and French (1 April). Other countries will be added to the list in the coming weeks.

The online process speeds up the visa application process and means fewer people will have to go to an embassy to obtain a tourist visa in Thailand.

To successfully apply for a visa for Thailand, applicants must meet the basic visa requirements. Candidates will need the following information:

  • A valid passport from one of the eligible countries.
  • A credit/debit card to pay the visa fees.
  • An email address to receive the Thai visa.

Once approved, the Thai visa will be sent to the applicant at the e-mail address indicated in the application form.

At the end of the online application, candidates must ensure that all required information is entered correctly. Any inaccurate or incomplete data could result in a delay or rejection of the request.

Travel documents required to enter Thailand

Before travellers arrive in Thailand, they must ensure that they have all the necessary documents. You must present the following at the Thai border to enter:

  • A valid passport, valid for the duration of the stay.
  • A visa for Thailand (unless you are eligible to enter without a visa).

Currently, some nationalities can obtain a Thai visa upon arrival, others must obtain one from an embassy or consulate, and some can enter without a visa for certain periods of stay. A tourist visa to Thailand will soon be an option for eligible nationalities.

Elegible countries for Thai Visa


  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bahrain
  • Brunei
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • China
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Korea
  • Kuwait
  • Liechtenstein
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Singapore
  • Slovak
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Vietnam